Skip to content

Sweet & Sour Spareribs

June 6, 2013

Okay, I am definitely going to learn to make more Asian dishes. This dish is simple to make. I just had a bite into a piece. It tastes pretty close to what I remember tasting it at a hometown restaurant in Brunei as a kid. Serve this dish with rice and some stir-fried vegetables to have a great lunch or supper!

The most basic things to have in an Asian kitchen, other than spices, are sesame oil, tapioca flour and rice flour. I had originally bought tapioca flour since a noodle dough recipe called for tapioca flour. Don’t worry, if you don’t have either and if you are craving for this dish, corn starch will do in the mean time. Also, anytime you see “Tomato Sauce”, it’s how they describe Ketchup in Southeast Asia. (Don’t worry, you don’t have to juice the tomatoes)

Tapioca Flour

Tapioca Flour

The Recipe:

Sweet & Sour Pork Ribs Recipe from ISBN-13: 978-9679691399

Sweet & Sour Pork Ribs Recipe from ISBN-13: 978-9679691399

Ha, ha, I just realized I skipped step 7, after uploading a snapshot of the recipe. I guess I’ll cut up some tomatoes to go with my lunch tomorrow!

So, I cut, seasoned and marinated the pork first with garlic, sweet soy sauce, white vinegar, salt & pepper. (I haven’t got any rice wine vinegar around at the present.) Then, I made the sauce (easiest step) :

Worcestershire sauce, sugar, ketchup, sesame oil and water

Worcestershire sauce, sugar, ketchup, sesame oil and water

Then, proceeded to coat the ribs and fry them:

Frying ribs that are cut into pieces

Frying ribs that are cut into pieces

I actually got a bit lazy somewhere between Step 3 and Step 4.  After frying/browning the coated ribs, I dumped the grease into a re-used tin can and returned the ribs to the pan. (I quite liked the fried coating gathered on the ribs itself)

Consequently, the sauce that was previously mixed was added and mixed briefly with the ribs. Then, you get this….

Sweet & Sour Spareribs

Sweet & Sour Spareribs

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

